Important Difference between FSSAI License and registration

fssai license

FSSAI license or registration is administered by the Foods Safety and Standards Authority of India and governed by the Food Safety and Standards Act 2006 (FSSAI ACT 2006).

The purpose of the FSSAI Act is to regulate and monitor the manufacture of food items, distribution, storage, sale, and import to make sure food products are safe for human intake.

Broadly, there are three categories in which every food business operator is required to register to operate as a food business operator.

FSSAI License types

Category 1 – FSSAI Registration is issued to petty food products manufacturers, hawkers, small retailers, dhaba, etc, whose annual turnover is less than Rs.12,00,000. Normally, the FSSAI registration certificate is issued within 30 days from the date of filing the application. In most cases, there will be no inspection.

Category 2 – FSSAI State license is issued to food business operators if turnover is more than 12 lakhs and generally below 20 crores is required to apply for FSSAI state license. Inspection will be done for all state license applications and the license will be issued after the officer is satisfied.

Category 3 – FSSAI central license is to be applied by the importer, exporter whose turnover is more than 20 crores, where the food business is carried from more than one state.

Apart from the classification of food business operators based on the amount of turnover, certain business classifications will be based on quantity.

Government Fees Structure for FSSAI

(1 YEAR)
NEW LICENSE Rs.100 Rs.2000 Rs.7500
RENEWAL Rs.100 Rs.2000 Rs.7500
MODIFICATION Rs.100 Rs.2000 Rs.7500

For State license Fees for Miller, Milk, milk solid production units will vary.